‘No’ campaign releases Labour names

Following on from the Labour ‘Yes’ campaign publishing its supporters in an open letter to the guardian – the ‘No’ to av camp has published a list of 114 Labour MPs who are ‘backing’ the ‘No’ campaign:

David Anderson, Blaydon
Ian Austin, Dudley North
Adrian Bailey, West Bromwich West
Gordon Banks, Ochil and South Perthshire
Margaret Beckett, Derby South
Stuart Bell, Middlesbrough
Joe Benton, Bootle
Clive Betts, Sheffield South East
Hazel Blears, Salford and Eccles
David Blunkett, Sheffield, Brightside and Hillsborough
Russell Brown, Dumfries and Galloway
David Cairns, Inverclyde
Ronnie Campbell, Blyth Valley
Jenny Chapman, Darlington
Katy Clark, North Ayrshire and Arran
Tom Clarke, Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill
Ann Clwyd, Cynon Valley
Vernon Coaker, Gedling
David Crausby, Bolton North East
Mary Creagh, Wakefield
John Cryer, Leyton and Wanstead
Jim Cunningham, Coventry South
Margaret Curran, Glasgow East
Simon Danczuk, Rochdale
Ian Davidson, Glasgow South West
Geraint Davies, Swansea West
Jim Dobbin, Heywood and Middleton
Thomas Docherty, Dunfermline and West Fife
Brian H. Donohoe, Central Ayrshire
Julie Elliott, Sunderland Central
Louise Ellman, Liverpool, Riverside
Natascha Engel, North East Derbyshire
Chris Evans, Islwyn
Jim Fitzpatrick, Poplar and Limehouse
Robert Flello, Stoke-on-Trent South
Caroline Flint, Don Valley
Yvonne Fovargue, Makerfield
Sheila Gilmore, Edinburgh East
Pat Glass, North West Durham
Mary Glindon, North Tyneside
Paul Goggins, Wythenshawe and Sale East
Tom Greatrex, Rutherglen and Hamilton West
Kate Green, Stretford and Urmston
Andrew Gwynne, Denton and Reddish
David Hamilton, Midlothian
Tom Harris, Glasgow South
John Healey, Wentworth and Dearne
Mark Hendrick, Preston
Stephen Hepburn, Jarrow
David Heyes, Ashton-under-Lyne
Meg Hillier, Hackney South and Shoreditch
Julie Hilling, Bolton West
Margaret Hodge, Barking
Sharon Hodgson, Washington and Sunderland West
Jim Hood, Lanark and Hamilton East
Kelvin Hopkins, Luton North
George Howarth, Knowsley
Lindsay Hoyle, Chorley
Tristram Hunt, Stoke-on-Trent Central
Cathy Jamieson, Kilmarnock and Loudoun
Diana Johnson, Kingston upon Hull North
Helen Jones, Warrington North
Kevan Jones, North Durham
Eric Joyce, Falkirk
Gerald Kaufman, Manchester, Gorton
Alan Keen, Feltham and Heston
Ian Lavery, Wansbeck
Ivan Lewis, Bury South
Ian Lucas, Wrexham
Denis MacShane, Rotherham
Steve McCabe, Birmingham, Selly Oak
Michael McCann, East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow
Siobhain McDonagh, Mitcham and Morden
Jim McGovern, Dundee West
Alan Meale, Mansfield
Ian Mearns, Gateshead
Alun Michael, Cardiff South and Penarth
Andrew Miller, Ellesmere Port and Neston
Austin Mitchell, Great Grimsby
Graeme Morrice, Livingston
Grahame Morris, Easington
George Mudie, Leeds East
Meg Munn, Sheffield, Heeley
Paul Murphy, Torfaen
Ian Murray, Edinburgh South
Fiona O’Donnell, East Lothian
Albert Owen, Ynys Môn
Toby Perkins, Chesterfield
Yasmin Qureshi, Bolton South East
Rachel Reeves, Leeds West
Linda Riordan, Halifax
John Robertson, Glasgow North West
Frank Roy, Motherwell and Wishaw
Barry Sheerman, Huddersfield
Jim Sheridan, Paisley and Renfrewshire North
Gavin Shuker, Luton South
Dennis Skinner, Bolsover
Angela Smith, Penistone and Stocksbridge
Nick Smith, Blaenau Gwent
John Spellar, Warley
Graham Stringer, Blackley and Broughton
Gisela Stuart, Birmingham, Edgbaston
Gerry Sutcliffe, Bradford South
Mark Tami, Alyn and Deeside
Emily Thornberry, Islington South and Finsbury
Karl Turner, Kingston upon Hull East
Derek Twigg, Halton
Keith Vaz, Leicester East
Joan Walley, Stoke-on-Trent North
Dave Watts, St Helens North
Chris Williamson, Derby North
Phil Wilson, Sedgefield
David Winnick, Walsall North
David Wright, Telford

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “‘No’ campaign releases Labour names”

  1. Praguetory says:

    Looks like MPs who would personally have much to fear from AV. Expected as much.

  2. Mary Wimbury says:

    Was talking to Alun Michael about this yesterday – he is definitely voting yes. Makes me wonder how many other names on this list are wrong …

  3. Mary Wimbury says:

    Understand Alun Michael has now had apology for erroneous inclusion. He is saying yes.

  4. Ian Baxter says:

    David Hamilton (Midlothian) has confirmed to me that he will be campaigning for a Yes vote.

  5. Ex Labour says:

    I am still unsure why Labour MP’s are against trusting the electorate and insist on defending a totally undemocratic system of voting. FPTP is only used now in a few countries normally ex colonial countries with now despotic rulers.
    The same voting system which continually disenfranchises about 40% of the country and this grows as people get more frustrated with the present state of affairs.
    It also ensured the survival of the Tory party. I suppose the elite have infiltrated the Labour movement to such an extent that we now have a situation in which whatever happens they still rule the country to their own benefit.
    Labour just does not have the Balls to give us a democratic system, they never did and probably never will.

  6. Progressive Consensus says:

    Labour badly need to wake up and smell the coffee here. No campaign is a Tory campaign. Compare the Labour No page to the Tory one, if you don’t believe them. Tory are scared witless of any change from FPTP because they know it would be harder for them to ever win power again. We may not like Clegg, but he was right to force the AV referendum because the majority in this country is progressive

Leave a Reply